• Sunday, 23 June 2024
Four Meru officers resign to seek elective seats

Four Meru officers resign to seek elective seats

Four Meru government officers have resigned to seek elective seats.

They include chief of staff Gideon Kimathi, county secretary Rufus Miriti, Roads executive Julius Taitumu and Tigania East administrator Kathendu Mwiti.

Kimathi will vie for South Imenti MP, Miriti (Igembe South), Taitumu (Igembe North) while Kathendu will vie for the senatorial seat.

The officials tendered their resignation and held press briefings on Wednesday.

Others seeking the South Imenti seat are MC Jesse, incumbent Kathuri Murungi, businessmen Kathara Mwiti and Shadrack Mwiti.

Miriti is seeking to unseat the youngest MP in the country John Paul Mwirigi who trounced him in 2017 polls.

Miriti was Mwirigi’s principal in high school.

Taitumu will try to dislodge incumbent Maore Maoka who also trounced him in the last polls.

Kimathi started his political journey in 2007 and was elected as councilor after graduating in 2006 from the University of Nairobi.

He then got elected as chairman of Meru county council.

Share on