• Sunday, 23 June 2024
Kenyan sprinters inspired by Omanyala qualify for the 200m semis.

Kenyan sprinters inspired by Omanyala qualify for the 200m semis.

Dan Kiviasi won his heat, advancing Mike Mokamba and Hesbon Ochieng to the men's 200m semi-finals at Birmingham's Alexander Stadium on Friday.

Kenyan sprinters stormed to the semi-finals of the men's 200m in athletics at the ongoing Commonwealth Games, inspired by Ferdinand Omanyala's victory in the men's 100m on Wednesday night.

Kiviasi won heat seven in 20.76 seconds, beating out Malaysian Alexander Nasir Taib, who finished second in 21.19 seconds and earned an automatic spot in the semis.

"The weather was beautiful and not humid, and the cheering crowd added to the experience," Kiviasi said, adding that having three Kenyans in the semi-finals is a great accomplishment.

"Our hope is that we all make it to the final and see what happens next." "A medal will be more important than time," Kiviasi said.

Mokamba finished second in heat three in 20.82 seconds, automatically qualifying for the semi-finals. Zharnel Hughes of the United Kingdom won the heat in 20.30 seconds.

"In the previous two Commonwealth Games, I advanced to the semi-finals. I'd like to take it up a notch "Mokamba added that Omanyala's influence is having a positive impact on the team.

"He's done it, and we can, too...

Omanyala's victory completely transformed the atmosphere at Team Kenya's village. He is a great source of inspiration "Mokamba stated.

Despite finishing fourth in heat five with a time of 21.30 seconds, Ochieng had done enough to qualify among the best losers. The heat was won by Joseph Paul Amoah in 20.58 seconds.

Meanwhile, Kenya's Millicent Ndoro breezed to the women's 200m semi-finals at Alexander Stadium during the ongoing Commonwealth Games.

Ndoro ran 24.03 seconds, while Namibian Olympic 200m silver medalist Christine Mboma won the heat in 23.20 seconds.

Maximilla Imali, the national 200m champion and record holder, was unable to compete in the third heat, which was won by Jamaican Natalliah Whyte in 23.61 seconds due to a knee injury.

Hima Das of India won heat two in 23.42 seconds, while Favour Ofili of Nigeria won heat four in 22.71 seconds.

Elaine Thompson-Herah won heat five in 22.80 seconds after winning the 100m title on Wednesday, and Natasha McDonald won heat six in 23.45 seconds.

The semi-finals are set to take place on Friday.

Share on