• Thursday, 01 December 2022
Principal Secretaries of William Ruto: Who is in and who is out?

Principal Secretaries of William Ruto: Who is in and who is out?

President William Ruto nominated 51 Principal Secretaries on Wednesday.

President Ruto has restructured his administration, increasing the number of state departments to 49 and the number of PSs appointed to 51, with two in the office of the Deputy President, a significant increase from the Uhuru Kenyatta administration, which had a leaner number of 42.

Get the full list here

President Ruto has retained five technocrats from President Uhuru Kenyatta's administration in nominating the Principal Secretaries who are the accounting officers of ministries. Some politicians have also been named in the list by Dr. Ruto.

Dr Belio Kipsang, appointed PS for Basic Education by the Uhuru government, has returned to the Ministry of Education, while Dr Chris Kiptoo has been promoted to the National Treasury from the Environment and Forestry docket.

Harry Kimutai is still on the Livestock Development docket, as is Charles Hinga on the Housing and Urban Development docket, and Julius Korir is on the Cabinet Affairs docket.

Dr Raymond Omollo, the CEO of the Lake Basin Development Authority, has been named to the powerful Interior docket, and Alfred Ombudo K'Ombudo has been named to the Trade docket.

Julius Bitok, a former Kenyan ambassador to Pakistan, has been appointed to the Citizen Services department.

Nixon Korir, a former Langata MP, has been nominated for the Lands and Physical Planning docket, while former Nairobi Deputy Governor Jonathan Mueke has been named to the Sports and the Arts docket.

Singoei Korir, the President's legal advisor, has been named to the Foreign Affairs docket.

Former Laikipia West MP has been appointed to the Defence Ministry.

Shadrack Mwadime (Shipping and Maritime Affairs), Muthoni Njagi (Blue Economy and Fisheries), Idris Dogota (The Asal and Regional Development), and Abdi Dubart are among the other nominees (East African Community Affairs).

The list has been sent to the National Assembly for approval by the President.