• Thursday, 01 December 2022
Eliud Kipchoge is up against nine world champions for the Athlete of the Year award.

Eliud Kipchoge is up against nine world champions for the Athlete of the Year award.

Eliud Kipchoge, the two-time Olympic marathon champion, will compete against nine world champions for the men's World Athlete of the Year Award in 2022.
Kipchoge, 37, who recently broke his own marathon world record, won the 2018 and 2019 awards but also made the final list for the 2020 and 2021 awards.


The winner of the prestigious award in world athletics will be announced on World Athletics' social media platforms in early December.


The announcement on Thursday marked the start of the voting process for the 2022 World Athletes of the Year, which will take place in December ahead of the World Athletics Awards.

Karsten Warholm, the Olympic 400m hurdles champion, became the first Norwegian to win the Male Athlete of the Year Award last year, defeating four other finalists, including Kipchoge and Olympic 5,000m champion Joshua Cheptegei of Uganda.

World champions Ceh Kristjan (discus) of Slovakia, Brazilian Alison Dos Santos (400m hurdles), the 2020 winner, Swede Mondo Duplantis (pole vault), Moroccan Soufiane El Bakkali (3,000m steeplechase), and American Grant Holloway will compete alongside Kipchoge (110m hurdles).


Other competitors include Norwegian Jakob Ingerbrigtsen (5,000m), American Noah Lyles (200m), Grenada's Anderson Peters (javelin), and Pedro Pichardo (triple jump) from Portugal.

An international panel of athletics experts, including representatives from all six World Athletics continents, chose the athletes.

"It has been another memorable year for the sport, and the nominations reflect some of the standout performances at the World Athletics Championships in Oregon, World Athletics Indoor Championships in Belgrade, one-day meeting circuits, and other events around the world," World Athletics said in a statement.

Kipchoge reclaimed the Berlin Marathon title on September 25, breaking his own world record by 30 seconds.


The 2016 and 2020 Olympic marathon champion won in 2:01:09, breaking his previous world record of 2:01:39 set in Berlin in 2018.

Kipchoge won the Tokyo Marathon in a course record time of 2:02:40 on March 6, this year, beating out newly crowned London Marathon champion Amos Kipruto in 2:03:13.

Faith Chepng'etich, Kenya's Olympic and world 1,500m champion, was named one of ten nominees for the female 2022 World Athlete of the Year award on Wednesday.

Apart from 800m world record holder David Rudisha, Kipchoge is the only other Kenyan male to have won the award.

No Kenyan woman has ever received the award.

The finalists will be chosen through a three-way voting process.

The voting period ends on October 31.

The World Athletics Council and World Athletics Family will vote via email, while fans can vote online through the World Athletics social media platforms.

This week, individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and YouTube; a 'like' on Facebook, Instagram, or YouTube, or a retweet on Twitter, will count as one vote.

The World Athletics Council's vote will count for 50% of the final result, while the World Athletics Family's vote and public votes will each count for 25%.

The World Athletes of the Year voting period ends on October 31 at midnight. World Athletics will announce five women and five men finalists at the end of the voting process.


Kindly share with us your thoughts as we engage on this matter.

Read more here